HR 51 - Washington, D.C. Admission Act - National Key Vote


Stage Details

See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Washington, D.C. Admission Act

Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that authorizes statehood for Washington District of Columbia.



  • Authorizes admission of Washington, Douglas Commonwealth (District of Columbia) as a state into the United States of America on an equal footing with every other state in the union (Title I, Subtitle A, Sec. 101).

  • Requires the mayor of Washington D.C. to issue a proclamation for an election for 2 senators and one representative within 30 days of this bill’s enactment (Title I, Subtitle A, Sec. 102).

  • Exempts the following locations from inclusion in the commonwealth territory and prohibits any taxes from being imposed on the property, unless authorized by Congress (Title I, Subtitle B, Sec. 111):

    • Federal buildings and monuments;

    • The White House;

    • The U.S. Capitol Building;

    • The U.S. Supreme Court Building; and

    • The federal, executive, legislative, and judicial office buildings adjacent to the Mall and Capitol Building.

  • Requires the federal government to maintain authority over military lands including Arlington National Cemetery (Title II, Subtitle A, Sec. 201).

  • Requires expedited consideration of a joint resolution repealing the 23rd amendment to the U.S. Constitution which establishes D.C. delegate electors for appointment of the president and vice president (Title II, Subtitle C, Sec. 224).

  • Authorizes the continuation of certain federal responsibilities regarding employee benefit payments, agencies, court release and supervision programs, and college tuition assistance programs until Douglas Commonwealth certifies it is prepared to take over (Title III, Subtitle A-C, Sec. 301-322).

  • Establishes an 18 member Statehood Transition Commission composed of the following individuals to advise the president, Congress, and District/Commonwealth leaders on the transition (Title IV, Sec. 402):

    • 3 members appointed by the president;

    • 2 members appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives;

    • 2 members appointed by the minority leader of the House of Representatives;

    • 2 members appointed by the president of the Senate;

    • 2 members appointed by the minority leader of the Senate;

    • 3 members appointed by the mayor; 

    • 3 members appointed by the Council; and

    • The chief financial officer of the District of Columbia.