Their Biographies, Issue Positions, Voting Records, Public Statements, Ratings and their Funders.
Card image cap

Jean Leising's Biography

Office: State Senate (IN) - District 42, Republican

Contact Information


200 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2785

5268 Stockpile Road
Oldenburg, IN 47036

Full Name:

Jean A. Leising




Husband: Frank Thompson; 4 Children: Jill, Jennifer, Jeffrey, David Jr. (deceased)

Birth Date:


Birth Place:

Batesville, IN

Home City:

Oldenburg, IN

Sunman High School, 1966 Salutatorian

RN, Good Samaritan Hospital, School of Nursing, Ohio, 1969

Senator, Indiana State Senate, District 42, 2008-present

Member, Oldenburg Academy School Board

Candidate, Indiana State House of Representatives, 2001

Senator, Indiana State Senate, District 42, 1988-1996

Assistant Majority Whip, Indiana State Senate, 1992-1996

Candidate, United States House, District 9, 1996

Chair, Agriculture Committee, Indiana State Senate, present

Member, Commerce and Technology Committee, Indiana State Senate, present

Member, Education and Career Development Committee, Indiana State Senate, present

Ranking Member, Natural Resources Committee, Indiana State Senate, present

Member, Utilities Committee, Indiana State Senate, present

Member, Indiana Occupational Safety Commission

Chair, Public Policy Subcommittee

Farm Owner, 1980-present

Industrial Nurse, Federal-Mogul, IN, 1969-1976

Member, Board of Directors, National Corn Growers Association

Member, Catholic Community Foundation

Member, Indiana Farm Bureau

Member, Saint Louis Catholic Church

President, Indiana Corngrowers Association, 1986


Indiana Farm Bureau -- Legislator of the Year, 2013
Indiana Manufacturers Association -- 100% Award for Legislative Excellence, 2013
Champion of Indiana's Electric Cooperatives -- Unmatched Leadership & Steadfast Support of Indiana's Electric Cooperation, 2013
Indiana Latino Scholarship Fund -- Leadership Enhancing Educational Opportunities, 2013
Developmental Services, Inc. -- Paul Roahrig Memorial President's Award, 2010
New Horizons -- New Horizons Partnership Award, 2010
Indiana Volunteer Firefighters Association - Legislator of the Year, 2010
American Legion of Indiana - Distinguished Public Service Award, 2009
National Rifle Association - Defenders of Freedom Award, 1996
National Federation of Independent Business - Guardian of Small Business Award, 1996
National Association for Home Care - Legislator of the Year, 1996
Indiana Conservation Offices - Legislator of the Year, 1995
Presenter of the 1994 Contract With America
Indiana Farm Bureau - Woman of the Year, 1984