Rating Group: The Cato Institute

2016 Positions on Tax Rate

Vote Smart displays all known interest group ratings for each candidate and official, regardless of issue or bias.

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issue concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

With rare exceptions, Vote Smart displays interest group ratings as a 0-100 percentage. While many interest groups use percentages as ratings to begin with, please note that Vote Smart has translated some ratings to a percentage from a different rating system for consistency and ease in understanding. Please visit the group's website, email us at ratings@votesmart.org or call our Voter Information Hotline at 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

results per page:
State Office Name Party Rating
CO U.S. Senate - Jr John Hickenlooper Democratic 48%
FL U.S. Senate - Jr Rick Scott Republican 48%
NA U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo 46%
NE U.S. Senate - Jr Pete Ricketts Republican 48%
NH U.S. Senate - Jr Maggie Hassan Democratic 52%
TX Governor Greg Abbott Republican 52%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 48%
Charlie Baker 50%
Robert Bentley 46%
Terry Branstad 48%
Jerry Brown, Jr. 48%
Kate Brown 48%
Sam Brownback 38%
Phil Bryant 48%
Steve Bullock 48%
Chris Christie 48%
Andrew Cuomo 57%
Jack Dalrymple 67%
Dennis Daugaard 31%
Mark Dayton 47%
Nathan Deal 48%
Doug Ducey 48%
Mary Fallin 60%
Nikki Haley 48%
Bill Haslam 48%
Gary Herbert 48%
Larry Hogan, Jr. 48%
Asa Hutchinson 48%
David Ige 48%
John Kasich 63%
Paul LePage 65%
Dan Malloy 32%
Jack Markell 48%
Susana Martinez 65%
Terry McAuliffe 48%
Patrick McCrory 80%
Matt Mead 48%
Jay Nixon 48%
Butch Otter 48%
Mike Pence 74%
Bruce Rauner 48%
Brian Sandoval 39%
Peter Shumlin 45%
Rick Snyder 48%
Earl Tomblin 44%
Scott Walker 48%
Tom Wolf 43%