Legislative Committees

Joint Committee on the Library

National Joint Committee

1309 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Created on January 26, 1802 (2 Stat. 129), the Joint Committee of Congress on the Library is the oldest continuing joint committee of the U.S. Congress. The Committee has oversight of the operations of the Library of Congress, as well as management of the National Statuary Hall Collection, the U.S. Botanic Garden, and works of fine art in the Capitol. Membership consists of the chairman and three other Members of the Committee on House Administration, the chairman of the House Appropriations Legislative Branch Subcommittee, and the chairman and four other Members of the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration. The chairmanship of the Committee alternates between the House and Senate with each Congress.
Sen. Roy Blunt
(Republican-MO Sr) Chair
Rep. Zoe Lofgren
(Democratic-CA 19) Vice Chair
Rep. G. K. Butterfield, Jr.
(Democratic-NC 1) Member
Rep. Rodney Davis
(Republican-IL 13) Member
Sen. Amy Klobuchar
(Democratic-MN Sr) Member
Sen. Patrick Leahy
(Democratic-VT Sr) Member
Rep. Barry Loudermilk
(Republican-GA 11) Member
Rep. Tim Ryan
(Democratic-OH 13) Member
Sen. Richard Shelby
(Republican-AL Sr) Member