Legislative Committees

Subcommittee on Public Lands, Forests, and Mining

National Senate Committee

304 Dirksen Senate Building
Washington, DC 20510

Parent Committee: Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Jurisdiction of the Subcommittee includes oversight and legislative responsibilities for: public lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management and U.S. Forest Service including farming and grazing thereon, and wilderness areas; establishment of wildlife refuges on public lands and wilderness designation therein; military land withdrawals; reserved water rights; Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act; territorial affairs; national mining and minerals policy and general mining laws; surface mining, reclamation and enforcement; mining education and research; Federal mineral leasing; Outer Continental Shelf leasing; Naval oil shale reserves; National Petroleum reserve -- Alaska; and deep seabed mining.
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto
(Democratic-NV Sr) Chair
Sen. Mike Lee
(Republican-UT Sr) Ranking Member
Sen. Bill Cassidy
(Republican-LA Sr) Member
Sen. Steve Daines
(Republican-MT Jr) Member
Sen. Martin Heinrich
(Democratic-NM Jr) Member
Sen. John Hickenlooper
(Democratic-CO Jr) Member
Sen. Mazie Hirono
(Democratic-HI Jr) Member
Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith
(Republican-MS Jr) Member
Sen. Mark Kelly
(Democratic-AZ Jr) Member
Sen. Angus King, Jr.
(Independent-ME Jr) Member
Sen. James Lankford
(Republican-OK Jr) Member
Sen. Lisa Murkowski
(Republican-AK Sr) Member
Sen. James Risch
(Republican-ID Jr) Member
Sen. Debbie Stabenow
(Democratic-MI Sr) Member
Sen. Ron Wyden
(Democratic-OR Sr) Member