Legislative Committees

Subcommittee on Highways and Transit

National House Committee

2251 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515-6256

Parent Committee: Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

The Subcommittee on Highways and Transit is responsible for the development of national surface transportation policy, construction and improvement of highway and transit facilities, implementation of highway and transit safety programs and research activities, and regulation of commercial motor vehicle operations. Within this scope of responsibilities, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over many U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) programs, including the following:

Federal-aid Highway Program administered by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
Federal transit programs administered by the Federal Transit Administration (FTA)
Highway safety grants and research programs administered by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
Commercial motor vehicle safety programs and regulations administered by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
Surface transportation research administered by FHWA, FTA, FMCSA, NHSTA and coordinated through the Office of the Secretary of Transportation (OST)
Many of these agencies, especially FTA and FMCSA, also have security oversight and enforcement responsibilities as part of their regulatory functions. In addition, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over certain provisions of the Clean Air Act pertaining to air quality compliance through the transportation planning and project development process administered by FHWA and FTA.
Rep. Eleanor Norton
(Democratic-DC Delegate) Chair
Rep. Rodney Davis
(Republican-IL 13) Ranking Member
Rep. Colin Allred
(Democratic-TX 32) Member
Rep. Jake Auchincloss
(Democratic-MA 4) Member
Rep. Brian Babin
(Republican-TX 36) Member
Rep. Troy Balderson
(Republican-OH 12) Member
Rep. Mike Bost
(Republican-IL 12) Member
Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux
(Democratic-GA 7) Member
Rep. Anthony Brown
(Democratic-MD 4) Member
Rep. Julia Brownley
(Democratic-CA 26) Member
Rep. Tim Burchett
(Republican-TN 2) Member
Rep. Salud Carbajal
(Democratic-CA 24) Member
Rep. Steve Cohen
(Democratic-TN 9) Member
Rep. Rick Crawford
(Republican-AR 1) Member
Rep. Sharice Davids
(Democratic-KS 3) Member
Rep. Peter DeFazio
(Democratic-OR 4) Member
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier
(Democratic-CA 11) Member
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick
(Republican-PA 1) Member
Rep. Mike Gallagher
(Republican-WI 8) Member
Rep. John Garamendi
(Democratic-CA 3) Member
Rep. Chuy Garcia
(Democratic-IL 4) Member
Rep. Bob Gibbs
(Republican-OH 7) Member
Rep. Carlos Gimenez
(Republican-FL 26) Member
Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón
(New Progressive Party-PR Resident Commissioner) Member
Rep. Sam Graves
(Republican-MO 6) Member
Rep. Michael Guest
(Republican-MS 3) Member
Rep. Jared Huffman
(Democratic-CA 2) Member
Rep. Dusty Johnson
(Republican-SD At-Large) Member
Rep. Eddie Johnson
(Democratic-TX 30) Member
Rep. Hank Johnson, Jr.
(Democratic-GA 4) Member
Rep. Kai Kahele
(Democratic-HI 2) Member
Rep. John Katko
(Republican-NY 24) Member
Rep. Doug LaMalfa
(Republican-CA 1) Member
Rep. Conor Lamb
(Democratic-PA 17) Member
Rep. Alan Lowenthal
(Democratic-CA 47) Member
Rep. Stephen Lynch
(Democratic-MA 8) Member
Rep. Nancy Mace
(Republican-SC 1) Member
Rep. Nicole Malliotakis
(Republican-NY 11) Member
Rep. Sean Maloney
(Democratic-NY 18) Member
Rep. Thomas Massie
(Republican-KY 4) Member
Rep. Seth Moulton
(Democratic-MA 6) Member
Rep. Grace Napolitano
(Democratic-CA 32) Member
Rep. Troy Nehls
(Republican-TX 22) Member
Rep. Marie Newman
(Democratic-IL 3) Member
Rep. Chris Pappas
(Democratic-NH 1) Member
Rep. Scott Perry
(Republican-PA 10) Member
Rep. David Rouzer
(Republican-NC 7) Member
Rep. Albio Sires
(Democratic-NJ 8) Member
Rep. Greg Stanton
(Democratic-AZ 9) Member
Rep. Peter Stauber
(Republican-MN 8) Member
Rep. Michelle Steel
(Republican-CA 48) Member
Rep. Marilyn Strickland
(Democratic-WA 10) Member
Rep. Beth Van Duyne
(Republican-TX 24) Member
Rep. Bruce Westerman
(Republican-AR 4) Member
Rep. Nikema Williams
(Democratic-GA 5) Member
Rep. Frederica Wilson
(Democratic-FL 24) Member