Legislative Committees

Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Investment

National House Committee

2176 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Parent Committee: Education & Labor Committee

The Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Training has jurisdiction over education and training beyond the high school level including, but not limited to, higher education generally, postsecondary student assistance and employment services, and the Higher Education Act; Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972; all domestic volunteer programs; all programs related to the arts and humanities, museum and library services, and arts and artifacts indemnity; postsecondary career and technical education, apprenticeship programs, and job training including the Workforce Investment Act, vocational rehabilitation, and training programs from immigration funding; science and technology programs; adult basic education (family literacy); all welfare reform programs including work incentive programs and welfare-to-work requirements; poverty programs including the Community Services Block Grant Act and the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP); the Native American Programs Act; the Institute of Peace; and all matters dealing with programs and services for the elderly including nutrition programs and the Older Americans Act.
Rep. Frederica Wilson
(Democratic-FL 24) Chair
Rep. Greg Murphy
(Republican-NC 3) Ranking Member
Rep. Jim Banks
(Republican-IN 3) Member
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
(Democratic-OR 1) Member
Rep. Jamaal Bowman
(Democratic-NY 16) Member
Rep. Joaquin Castro
(Democratic-TX 20) Member
Rep. James Comer, Jr.
(Republican-KY 1) Member
Rep. Joe Courtney
(Democratic-CT 2) Member
Rep. Adriano Espaillat
(Democratic-NY 13) Member
Rep. Russ Fulcher
(Republican-ID 1) Member
Rep. Bob Good
(Republican-VA 5) Member
Rep. Raul Grijalva
(Democratic-AZ 3) Member
Rep. Glenn Grothman
(Republican-WI 6) Member
Rep. Diana Harshbarger
(Republican-TN 1) Member
Rep. Pramila Jayapal
(Democratic-WA 7) Member
Rep. Mondaire Jones
(Democratic-NY 17) Member
Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez
(Democratic-NM 3) Member
Rep. Julia Letlow
(Republican-LA 5) Member
Rep. Kathy Manning
(Democratic-NC 6) Member
Rep. Lisa McClain
(Republican-MI 10) Member
Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks
(Republican-IA 2) Member
Rep. Ilhan Omar
(Democratic/Farmer/Labor-MN 5) Member
Rep. Mark Pocan
(Democratic-WI 2) Member
Rep. Mikie Sherrill
(Democratic-NJ 11) Member
Rep. Victoria Spartz
(Republican-IN 5) Member
Rep. Elise Stefanik
(Republican-NY 21) Member
Rep. Mark Takano
(Democratic-CA 41) Member