Letter to President Barack Obama - Explain the Narrative Used to Sell the Iran Nuclear Deal


Dear Mr. President:

We write to you with great concern regarding recent statements made by your Deputy National Security Advisor for Strategic Communications, Mr. Ben Rhodes.

In a recent article, Mr. Rhodes implied that the administration was selling a misleading narrative and deceiving the American public by preying on the naivety of inexperienced journalists and creating an "echo chamber" to influence the discussion surrounding the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA).

These comments and recent actions taken by your administration have only exasperated our mistrust and disapproval of the JCPOA.

Since the implementation of the JCPOA, it's becoming increasingly obvious that snapping back sanctions on Iran will be unreasonable, if not completely impossible. After Cabinet Secretaries testified in Congress that Iran would not have any access to the U.S. dollar, multiple reports suggest that your administration is mulling ways to indirectly give access to our currency. On the heels of a supposed $1.7 billion ransom to free five innocently detained Americans, U.S. taxpayers were on the hook for a multimillion dollar check to Iran to purchase heavy water, an effort to accelerate their economy post deal, with funds that will undoubtedly go to accelerate Iran's nefarious activities in the region.

As representatives of Americans all over the country, we have a responsibility and a duty to be as forthcoming, transparent, and honest about our policies, especially regarding matters of national security. Americans should rest assured knowing that their elected representatives are having an honest, robust debate about the threats facing our country. In light of these recent comments and actions taken by your administration we ask that you clarify your position on the most recent statements made by Mr. Rhodes and actions taken by your administration that are contrary to the promises made before the JCPOA was signed.

Thank you,

Rep. Dave Trott

Rep. Gary Palmer

Rep. Doug Lamborn

Rep. Bradley Byrne

Rep. Robert Pittenger

Rep. Mike Bishop

Rep. Scott DesJarlais

Rep. Tim Walberg

Rep. David McKinley

Rep. John Moolenaar

Rep. Jeff Duncan

Rep. Ryan Zinke

Rep. Lynn Jenkins

Rep. John Ratcliffe

Rep. Lamar Smith

Rep. Mark Meadows

Rep. Dan Newhouse

Rep. Dan Benishek

Rep. Leonard Lance

Rep. Mike Coffman

Rep. Daniel M. Donovan, Jr.

Rep. Trent Franks

Rep. Tom Reed