Flake Statement on Renewed Restrictions on U.S. Travel to Cuba


Date: June 16, 2017
Location: Washington, DC
Issues: Foreign Affairs

U.S. Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), a member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, today released the following statement regarding renewed restrictions on the freedom of U.S. citizens to travel to Cuba:

"Any policy change that diminishes the ability of Americans to travel freely to Cuba is not in the best interests of the United States or the Cuban people. It is time Senate leadership finally allowed a vote on my bipartisan bill to fully lift these archaic restrictions which do not exist for travel by Americans to any other country in the world. The bill has 55 total cosponsors and I am convinced it would pass the Senate with upwards of 70 votes."


Flake and U.S. Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) have introduced the Freedom for Americans to Travel to Cuba Act of 2017. A total of 56 senators have signed on in support of the bill to eliminate restrictions on travel to Cuba by American citizens and legal residents.