Their Biographies, Issue Positions, Voting Records, Public Statements, Ratings and their Funders.

Grassley, Iowa Delegation Supports Reynolds Appeal for FEMA Assistance for Two Iowa Counties


U. S. Sen. Chuck Grassley joined Rep. Rod Blum and the entire Iowa Congressional delegation in a letter to President Donald Trump in support of Governor Kim Reynolds' appeal of the Administration's decision denying Individual Assistance under FEMA for Marshall and Polk counties. The letter was signed by Grassley, Blum, Sen. Joni Ernst and Reps. Dave Loebsack, David Young and Steve King.

"As the Governor points out in the letter of appeal, "Damage from the July 19, 2018 tornadoes occurred over multiple counties in Iowa, however greater than 99 percent of damages and impacts to individuals occurred within a concentrated geographic area within the city of Marshalltown. This more concentrated area contains the majority of low-to-moderate-income housing within the community as well as many of the major companies that employ these people.' It is our understanding that the majority of those families and businesses impacted by the tornado are struggling to recover," the delegation wrote. "We are aware of the subjectivity and complex calculations that go into granting Individual Assistance. Therefore, we ask you to look at the federal assistance that is vitally needed for long-term recovery in Iowa and ask that this appeal receive all due consideration."

On August 17, 2018, the Iowa delegation urged Trump to grant Reynolds' request for federal disaster assistance for five Iowa counties. On September 13, 2018, that request was approved. The delegation also requested assistance through the FEMA Individual Assistance Program, for the two counties of Marshall and Polk. On September 14, 2018, FEMA denied the request for Individual Assistance. On September 28, Reynolds wrote to the Administration to appeal the decision.