Statement from Congressional Ukraine Caucus Co-Chairs on Aggressive Russian Naval Attack Against Ukraine


Congressional Ukraine Caucus Chairs, Representatives Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Andy Harris (R-MD), Sander Levin (D-MI), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) issued a statement rebuking the Russian Federation's aggressive attack on Ukraine near the Kerch Strait in the Sea of Azov:

"As co-chairs of the Congressional Ukraine Caucus, we strongly condemn Russia's dangerous naval assault on Ukrainian ships. This episode, as well as Russia's blockade of Ukrainian ports, is a deeply disturbing sign of continued Russian aggression in its efforts to tighten its bloody grip and illegitimate occupation of the Crimean peninsula.

"We join the international community and our NATO allies in resolute affirmation of the fact that Crimea and its surrounding waters belong to Ukraine. We call on Russian authorities, in accordance with international law, to cease any and all interference with access to Ukrainian ports and the Azov Sea. Russia must end this bloody and unjust occupation of Ukrainian sovereign territory."

Six soldiers were injured and three Ukrainian naval ships, along with the crew members, were captured. Read more about the attack here.