Letter to Congressional Colleagues - 130 Democratic Members Sign Letter of Support for Rep. Mark Takano to Become Chairman of the House Committee on Veterans' Affairs


By: Gwen Moore, Mark Pocan, Denny Heck, Adam Smith, Pramila Jayapal, Rick Larsen, Peter Welch, Gerry Connolly, Don Beyer, Jr., Donald McEachin, Lloyd Doggett II, Filemon Vela, Jr., Marc Veasey, Eddie Johnson, Henry Cuellar, Joaquin Castro, Sheila Jackson Lee, Vicente Gonzalez, Al Green, Lizzie Fletcher, Steve Cohen, Jim Cooper, Jim Clyburn, Jim Langevin, David Cicilline, Mike Doyle, Jr., Conor Lamb, Susan Wild, Mary Scanlon, Dwight Evans, Brendan Boyle, Marcia Fudge, Marcy Kaptur, Joyce Beatty, Joe Morelle, Anthony Brindisi, Eliot Engel, José Serrano, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Adriano Espaillat, Max Rose, Jerry Nadler, Yvette Clarke, Thomas Suozzi, Steven Horsford, Susie Lee, Dina Titus, Deb Haaland, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Don Payne, Jr., Bill Pascrell, Jr., Albio Sires, Frank Pallone, Jr., Joshua Gottheimer, Andy Kim, Jeff Van Drew, Donald Norcross, Chris Pappas, G. K. Butterfield, Jr., Bennie Thompson, Kilili Sablan, Emanuel Cleaver II, Lacy Clay, Jr., Collin Peterson, Ilhan Omar, Betty McCollum, Dean Phillips, Rashida Tlaib, Dan Kildee, Jared Golden, Elijah Cummings, David Trone, Anthony Brown, Stephen Lynch, Ayanna Pressley, Joe Kennedy III, Jim McGovern, John Yarmuth, Brad Schneider, Jan Schakowsky, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Danny Davis, Chuy Garcia, Bobby Rush, Michael San Nicolas, David Scott, Lucy McBath, John Lewis, Hank Johnson, Jr., Sanford Bishop, Jr., Donna Shalala, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Frederica Wilson, Charlie Crist, Jr., Val Demings, Darren Soto, Al Lawson, Jr., Eleanor Norton, John Larson, Jason Crow, Juan Vargas, Mike Levin, Alan Lowenthal, Katie Porter, Nanette Barragán, Maxine Waters, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Gil Cisneros, Raul Ruiz, Norma Torres, Ted Lieu, Grace Napolitano, Pete Aguilar, Tony Cárdenas, Judy Chu, Katie Hill, Jimmy Panetta, Ro Khanna, Jim Costa, Barbara Lee, Mark DeSaulnier, Jerry McNerney, Doris Matsui, Mike Thompson, John Garamendi, Ruben Gallego, Raul Grijalva, Tom O'Halleran, Alma Adams
Date: Nov. 30, 2018
Location: Washington, DC

Dear Colleague:

To best serve our nation's veterans in the 116th Congress, we need experienced leaders who are dedicated to protecting veteran benefits while also holding this Administration accountable. That is why we are supporting Mark Takano for Chairman.

As the most senior Democratic member of the House Committee on Veterans' affairs and the current Vice Ranking Member, Mark was instrumental in negotiating major reforms to the GI Bill. He has also helped shape messaging on veteran's issues for the Democratic Caucus.

Mark made veterans a priority from his first days in Congress and has demonstrated an ability to advance Democratic priorities. Mark serves as the Whip of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus and Co-Chair of the LGBT Equality Caucus, and his appointment to Chairman would further advance our Democratic Caucus' commitment to diversity.

Our veterans deserve a Chairman ready to take on this critical task, and there is no better person for this job than Mark Takano.