Their Biographies, Issue Positions, Voting Records, Public Statements, Ratings and their Funders.

Congressman Sean Duffy applauds senator Tim Scott for introducing his bill to provide more work opportunities for veterans


Date: July 25, 2019
Location: Washington D.C.

Senator Tim Scott introduced the Senate companion to Congressman Sean Duffy's bill that will help veterans enter the education workforce.

The Heroes Entering Roles of Education Service (HEROES) Act, previously introduced by Wisconsin Congressman Sean Duffy, Ranking Member of the Financial Services Subcommittee on Housing, Community Development & Insurance, and Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI) will expand and rename the Troops to Teachers program to help separating service members transition into any role in an education setting, including teacher, school counselor, administrator, etc. This bill will not only result in more service members achieving meaningful, long-term employment, but it will also enhance the quality of our children's education and the level of safety in their schools, as recommended in the President's Commission on School Safety's final report.

The HEROES Act passed the House of Representatives as an amendment to H.R. 2500, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2020, on July 12, 2019.

"Veterans possess vital leadership experience that can be passed on to our children, greatly enhancing the quality of their education. It is important we recognize the impact that non-teachers employed at schools have on a student's overall education experience. We should be helping veterans gain meaningful employment in these careers, especially given the added benefit their tactical training brings to campus security. I am thankful to Senator Scott for his leadership on this effort in the United States Senate. I am thankful to Senator Scott for his leadership on this effort in the United States Senate. I am hopeful that this bipartisan, commonsense policy will be maintained in an NDAA conference and signed into law by the President."