Letter to the Hon. Sonny Perdue, Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture - Grassley Leads Iowa Delegation in Urging Approval of Governor Reynolds USDA Secretarial Disaster Designation


Dear Secretary Perdue:

We respectfully ask that you promptly grant the request made by Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds for a Secretarial Disaster Designation for 57 Iowa counties that suffered losses as a result of the derecho that occurred on August 10, 2020.

The counties included are: Adair, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cherokee, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monona, Monroe, Muscatine, Plymouth, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Story, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Webster, and Woodbury.

This severe storm swept through much of Iowa with sustained winds in excess of 100 mph. Within the requested 57 counties, there are 8.2 million corn acres and 5.6 million soybean acres. Based on satellite imagery and preliminary storm reports, approximately 3.57 million acres of corn and 2.5 million acres of soybeans can be seen to be severely damage, with millions more acres affected to varying degrees. This is a potential loss of nearly 725 million bushels of corn and nearly 153 million bushels of soybeans.

Iowa producers have also suffered significant damage to houses, grain bins, barns, and other infrastructure critical to their farming operations and livelihoods. It is critical that you grant this Secretarial Disaster Designation that will make these producers eligible for resources that will help mitigate these significant losses.

Thank you for your prompt consideration of this important request.