Their Biographies, Issue Positions, Voting Records, Public Statements, Ratings and their Funders.

Letter to Hon. Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House; Hon. Kevin McCarthy, House Minority Leader; Hon. Chuck Schumer, Senate Majority Leader; and Hon. Mitch McConnell, Senate Minority Leader - Lucas Joins Colleagues to Oppose the Repeal of the Hyde Amendment


By: Liz Cheney, Carol Miller, Alex Mooney, David McKinley, Mike Gallagher, Tom Tiffany, Glenn Grothman, Scott Fitzgerald, Bryan Steil, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Dan Newhouse, Jaime Herrera Beutler, Morgan Griffith, Ben Cline, Bob Good, Rob Wittman, Burgess Owens, John Curtis, Chris Stewart, Blake Moore, Brian Babin, John Carter, Michael Cloud, Michael Burgess, Roger Williams, Beth Van Duyne, Tony Gonzales, Troy Nehls, Chip Roy, Jodey Arrington, Pete Sessions, Randy Weber, Sr., Ronny Jackson, Kay Granger, August Pfluger, Michael McCaul, Kevin Brady, Lance Gooden, Pat Fallon, Van Taylor, Dan Crenshaw, Louie Gohmert, David Kustoff, Mark Green, John Rose, Scott DesJarlais, Chuck Fleischmann, Tim Burchett, Diana Harshbarger, Dusty Johnson, Tom Rice, Ralph Norman, Jr., William Timmons, Jeff Duncan, Joe Wilson, Sr., Nancy Mace, Mike Kelly, Jr., GT Thompson, Jr., Guy Reschenthaler, John Joyce, Fred Keller, Lloyd Smucker, Scott Perry, Dan Meuser, Cliff Bentz, Stephanie Bice, Tom Cole, Markwayne Mullin, Kevin Hern, Anthony Gonzalez, Steve Stivers, Dave Joyce, Troy Balderson, Mike Turner, Warren Davidson, Bob Gibbs, Bill Johnson, Bob Latta, Jim Jordan, Brad Wenstrup, Steve Chabot, Chris Jacobs, John Katko, Tom Reed II, Elise Stefanik, Nicole Malliotakis, Andrew Garbarino, Lee Zeldin, Yvette Herrell, Jeff Van Drew, Adrian Smith, Donald Bacon, Kelly Armstrong, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Patrick McHenry, Dan Bishop, Richard Hudson, Jr., David Rouzer, Virginia Foxx, Greg Murphy, Matt Rosendale, Steven Palazzo, Michael Guest, Trent Kelly, Jason Smith, Billy Long, Sam Graves, Vicky Hartzler, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Ann Wagner, Peter Stauber, Michelle Fischbach, Tom Emmer, Jim Hagedorn, Lisa McClain, Tim Walberg, Fred Upton, John Moolenaar, Peter Meijer, Bill Huizenga, Jack Bergman, Garret Graves, Mike Johnson, Clay Higgins, Steve Scalise, Andy Barr, Hal Rogers, Thomas Massie, Brett Guthrie, James Comer, Jr., Ron Estes, Jacob LaTurner, Tracey Mann, Trey Hollingsworth III, Larry Bucshon, Greg Pence, Victoria Spartz, Jim Baird, Jim Banks, Jackie Walorski, Darin LaHood, Mary Miller, Rodney Davis, Mike Bost, Mike Simpson, Russ Fulcher, Randy Feenstra, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Ashley Hinson, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Rick Allen, Barry Loudermilk, Jody Hice, Andrew Clyde, Austin Scott, Drew Ferguson, Buddy Carter, Carlos Gimenez, Byron Donalds, Brian Mast, Greg Steube, Vern Buchanan, Scott Franklin, Gus Bilirakis, Daniel Webster, Bill Posey, Michael Waltz, John Rutherford, Kat Cammack, Neal Dunn, Matt Gaetz, Doug Lamborn, Ken Buck, Lauren Boebert, Darrell Issa, Michelle Steel, Ken Calvert, Young Kim, Mike Garcia, David Valadao, Jay Obernolte, Doug LaMalfa, Debbie Lesko, David Schweikert, Andy Biggs, Paul Gosar, Bruce Westerman, Steve Womack, French Hill, Rick Crawford, Gary Palmer, Mo Brooks, Robert Aderholt, Mike Rogers, Barry Moore, Jerry Carl, Donald Young, Frank Lucas
Date: Jan. 26, 2021
Location: Cheyenne, OK
Issues: Abortion

To Speaker Pelosi, Republican Leader McCarthy, Majority Leader Schumer, and Minority Leader McConnell:

We write to express our unified opposition to Congressional Democrats' efforts to repeal the Hyde Amendment and other current-law, pro-life appropriations provisions. As part of their pro-abortion crusade, Democrats have taken direct aim at these long-standing, bipartisan protections that generally prevent the federal government from using taxpayer dollars to support abortion procedures.

Repealing these pro-life provisions would destroy nearly half a century of bipartisan consensus. Each year since 1976, Congress has included Hyde protections in annually enacted appropriations. No president in American history has ever vetoed an appropriations bill due to its inclusion of the Hyde Amendment.

Moreover, President Obama maintained the Hyde Amendment in each of his budget proposals. As recent as June 2019, former Vice President Joe Biden supported the Hyde Amendment and acknowledged that it works harmoniously with federal funding for women's healthcare.

Years of public polling indicates that repealing the Hyde Amendment is opposed by most of the American public. Congressional Democrats now seek to further erode public trust in government by ignoring mainstream public opinion in favor of placating the radical Left.

The Hyde Amendment alone has saved the lives of over 2 million innocent babies and continues to protect the conscience rights of a vast majority of Americans opposed to publicly funded abortions. We cannot allow the Hyde Amendment and other important pro-life safeguards to be decimated by Congressional Democrats. Accordingly, we pledge to vote against any government funding bill that eliminates or weakens the Hyde Amendment or other current-law, pro-life appropriations provisions.