Letter to Hon. Adam Smith, Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee, Hon. Jack Reed, Ranking Member of the House Armed Services Committee, Hon. Mike Rogers, Chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee, Hon. Jim Inhofe, Ranking Member of the Senate Armed Services Committee - McHenry Sends Letter Urging Removal of Red Flag Provisions From NDAA


By: Liz Cheney, Alex Mooney, David McKinley, Tom Tiffany, Glenn Grothman, Scott Fitzgerald, Bryan Steil, Cathy Rodgers, Dan Newhouse, Jaime Herrera Beutler, Ben Cline, Bob Good, Rob Wittman, Burgess Owens, Blake Moore, Brian Babin, John Carter, Michael Cloud, Michael Burgess, Beth Van Duyne, Pete Sessions, Randy Weber, Sr., Ronny Jackson, Kay Granger, August Pfluger, Michael McCaul, Kevin Brady, Jake Ellzey, Van Taylor, Dan Crenshaw, Louie Gohmert, David Kustoff, Mark Green, John Rose, Scott DesJarlais, Chuck Fleischmann, Tim Burchett, Diana Harshbarger, Dusty Johnson, Ralph Norman, Jr., William Timmons, Jeff Duncan, Joe Wilson, Sr., Mike Kelly, Jr., Fred Keller, Scott Perry, Dan Meuser, Cliff Bentz, Stephanie Bice, Tom Cole, Frank Lucas, Markwayne Mullin, Kevin Hern, Anthony Gonzalez, Dave Joyce, Troy Balderson, Warren Davidson, Bill Johnson, Bob Latta, Jim Jordan, Brad Wenstrup, Steve Chabot, Chris Jacobs, Claudia Tenney, Elise Stefanik, Lee Zeldin, Jeff Van Drew, Adrian Smith, Donald Bacon, Kelly Armstrong, Ted Budd, Madison Cawthorn, Richard Hudson, Jr., David Rouzer, Virginia Foxx, Greg Murphy, Matt Rosendale, Steven Palazzo, Michael Guest, Trent Kelly, Billy Long, Sam Graves, Vicky Hartzler, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Peter Stauber, Michelle Fischbach, Tom Emmer, Jim Hagedorn, Lisa McClain, Tim Walberg, Peter Meijer, Jack Bergman, Andy Harris, Julia Letlow, Mike Johnson, Steve Scalise, Hal Rogers, Brett Guthrie, James Comer, Jr., Jacob LaTurner, Tracey Mann, Trey Hollingsworth III, Larry Bucshon, Victoria Spartz, Jim Baird, Jim Banks, Jackie Walorski, Darin LaHood, Mary Miller, Mike Bost, Mike Simpson, Randy Feenstra, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Ashley Hinson, Marjorie Greene, Rick Allen, Barry Loudermilk, Jody Hice, Andrew Clyde, Austin Scott, Drew Ferguson, Buddy Carter, Mario Diaz-Balart, Brian Mast, Greg Steube, Vern Buchanan, Scott Franklin, Daniel Webster, Bill Posey, John Rutherford, Kat Cammack, Neal Dunn, Ken Calvert, Mike Garcia, Devin Nunes, David Valadao, Jay Obernolte, Tom McClintock, David Schweikert, Andy Biggs, Bruce Westerman, Steve Womack, French Hill, Rick Crawford, Mo Brooks, Robert Aderholt, Jerry Carl, Patrick McHenry
Date: Sept. 30, 2021
Location: Washington, DC

Dear Chairman Smith, Ranking Member Rogers, Chairman Reed, and Ranking Member Inhofe:

As you begin the conference committee process to reconcile the House and Senate versions of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2022, we write to strongly urge you to strike Sec. 529 of the House version, H.R. 4350. We are greatly concerned that if enacted, Sec. 529 would violate the Second Amendment rights of our nation's brave servicemembers by allowing military judges and magistrates to issue military court gun confiscation orders.

Even more concerning, under this provision, such an order could be issued by a military court on an ex parte basis -- meaning the order could be issued without the servicemember even being present in court to defend themselves. We believe this is a serious breach of due process that demands your full attention.

Every single day, brave American servicemembers serve in harm's way to defend our nation, our way of life, and the very constitutional rights that Sec. 529 would erode. This dangerous provision must be excluded from the final package. Again, we ask for your support to strike Sec. 529 of H.R. 4350 from the final conference report of the FY 2022 NDAA. Thank you for your attention to this important matter and please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions.