Letlow, Guest Lead Resolution to Recognize Fallen Officers During National Police Week


Date: May 16, 2022
Location: Washington, DC

Congresswoman Julia Letlow (LA-05) and Congressman Michael Guest (MS-03) introduced a resolution to recognize National Police Week and pay tribute to the 619 officers, including 10 Louisianans, who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.

"Every single day, our brave police officers put themselves in harm's way to keep our communities safe," Letlow said. "This is the week that a grateful nation pauses and pays tribute to those who have given their lives in service. I'm honored to help lead this resolution and I encourage all Louisianans to take the time this week to pray for and show support to our law enforcement officers."

"With this resolution, I hope to let our officers know that Congress supports their efforts and joins the nation in remembering the brave heroes who gave their lives in service to their fellow Americans," Guest said. "This legislation signals that, as their elected officials, we stand with them to honor those men and women who paid the ultimate price in service to our communities and to our nation. I encourage all Americans to thank a law enforcement officer this week and continue to pray for the safety of every man and woman in blue. May God continue to protect our law enforcement officers."

To read a copy of the resolution, click HERE.

In addition to Congresswoman Letlow and Congressman Guest, the legislation has received support from 77 original cosponsors:

Congressman Steve Scalise (LA-01), Congressman John Katko (NY-24), Congresswoman Val Demings (FL-10), Congressman Andrew Garbarino (NY-02), Congressman Carlos Gimenez (FL-26), Congresswoman Kat Cammack (FL-03), Congressman Robert J. William (VA-01), Congressman Trent Kelly (MS-01), Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-10), Congresswoman Ashley Hinson (IA-01), Congressman Ted Budd (NC-13), Congressman Tom McClintock (CA-04), Congresswoman Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27), Congresswoman Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Congressman Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Congressman Ralph Norman (SC-05), Congresswoman Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Congressman Andre Carson (IN-07), Congressman Tim Ryan (OH-13), Congressman Bill Johnson (OH-06), Congressman Tom O'Halleran (AZ-01), Congressman Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Congressman Mike Rogers (AL-03), Congressman Steven Palazzo (MS-04), Congressman Darrell Issa (CA-50), Congressman Bob Good (VA-05), Congressman Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Congressman Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Congresswoman Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11), Congressman Earl L. "Buddy" Carter (GA-01), Congressman Mike Garcia (CA-25), Congressman Jim Costa (CA-16), Congressman Troy Nehls (TX-22), Congresswoman Young Kim (CA-39), Congressman Louie Gohmert (TX-01) Congressman John Moolenaar (MI-04), Congressman Peter Meijer (MI-03), Congressman Tracey Mann (KS-01), Congressman Garret Graves (LA-06), Congressman Daniel Kildee (MI-05), Congressman Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), Congresswoman Lisa McClain (MI-10), Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Congressman Steve Chabot (OH-01), Congressman Robert Latta (OH-05), Congressman Warren Davidson (OH-08), Congressman Bryan Steil (WI-01), Congressman Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Congressman Glenn "GT" Thompson (PA-15), Congressman Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Congressman Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Congressman Alex Mooney (WV-02), Congressman Don Bacon (NE-02), Congressman Mike Kelly (PA-16), Congressman Mike Johnson (LA-04), Congressman Burgess Owens (UT-04), Congressman Liz Cheney (WY-At Large), Congressman David Kustoff (TN-08), Congressman William Timmons (SC-04), Congressman Jay Obernolte (CA-08), Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Congressman Greg Pence (IN-06), Congressman Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Congressman Jody Hice (GA-10), Congressman David P. Joyce (OH-14), Congressman Troy Balderson (OH-12), Congressman Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Congressman Chris Jacobs (NY-27), Congressman Tom Emmer (MN-06), Congressman Pete Stauber (MN-08), Congressman Dusty Johnson (SD-AL), Congressman Andrew S. Clyde (GA-09), Congressman Dan Bishop (NC-09), Congressman Joe Wilson (SC-02), Congressman Richard Hudson (NC-08), Congressman Bruce Westerman (AR-04), Congressman Andy Harris (MD-01)