Rep. Stewart Joins School Security Bill

Press Release

Date: June 15, 2022
Location: Washington, DC

Today, Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT) co-sponsored Rep. Burgess Owens's (R-UT) Securing Our Students Act. This legislation would redirect unused American Rescue Plan funding to help identify and implement evidence-based school safety measures. Of the $122 billion appropriated to America's K-12 schools in last year's $1.9 trillion American Rescue Plan, 93% remains unspent.

"There may not be a cure-all solution to the heartbreaking issue of mass shootings in our country," said Rep. Stewart. "But there are absolutely steps we can take to help prevent these tragedies. There are hundreds of billions of dollars still unspent from the American Rescue Plan, and the most vulnerable in our society need enhanced security. This legislation is a significant step toward better protecting America's children, and it's one Congress must take."

"I'm thrilled to announce 24 new co-sponsors of the Supporting Our Students Act," said Rep. Owens. "From threat prevention to classroom protection, my bill green lights untouched funding from the American Rescue Plan to help America's schools implement evidence-driven safety measures that protect our children and foster safe learning environments. Congress should act quickly to pass this commonsense school safety legislation to immediately help schools prevent future acts of senseless violence."

"Enhancing school safety measures must be at the forefront of our priorities in Congress. I am proud to join my colleagues in this crucial bill that would allow school districts and non-public schools to utilize funds already allocated by Congress for school hardening measures and mental health services to support students and the community. I commend Congressman Owens' leadership on this issue," said Rep. Diaz-Balart.

The bill is co-sponsored by Reps. Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Mike Bost (IL-12), Jerry Carl (AL-01), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Neal Dunn (FL-02), Pat Fallon (TX-04), Carlos Gimenez (FL-26), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Chris Jacobs (NY-27), Robert Latta (OH-05), Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Peter Meijer (MI-03), Markwayne Mullin (OK-02), Maria Salazar (FL-27), Pete Stauber (MN-08), Greg Steube (FL-17), GT Thompson (PA-15), and Tom Tiffany (WI-07).