Recognizing the 85th Anniversary of the Occoquan-Woodbridge-Lorton Volunteer Fire Department

Floor Speech

Date: April 13, 2023
Location: Washington, DC


Mr. CONNOLLY. Mr. Speaker, I rise to recognize the 85th Anniversary, as well as incoming 2023 officers, of the Occoquan-Woodbridge-Lorton Volunteer Fire Department.

Incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 1938, the OWLVFD is comprised of committed community members who volunteer their time, energy, and financial resources to ensuring the safety of the families and property in and around Woodbridge. During its 85-year history, the Department has continued to expand and there are now three stations staffed by over 200 volunteers who serve and protect an ever-growing local population. From their bravery in action, to their presence with the youth in the community, OWLVFD is readily available for the families of Woodbridge.

It is with great honor I include in the Record the names of the following Occoquan-Woodbridge-Lorton Volunteer Fire Department Officers:

Operational Officers:

Lt. Aundrea Bonilla, Lt. Mark Powers, Lt. Michael Yankaskas, Lt. Jonathan Baldwin, Lt. Reggie Lawrence, Capt. Melissa Westphal, Capt. Steve Godin, Capt. Scott Shaw, Assistant Chief Sandra Williams, Assistant Chief Kurt Bolland, Assistant Chief Ernest DeSantis, Assistant Chief Ryan Williams, Chief Wayne Haight.

Administrative Officers:

Sergeant at Arms--Mark Bauer, Election Officer--Sabrina Brandon Ricks, Treasurer--Debbie Haight, Membership Secretary--Stacey Godin, Executive Vice President--Sue Wessolleck.

Board of Directors:

Jonathan Baldwin, Frank Bruno, Mike Clark, Dee Gottman, Brenda Kuhn, Melissa Payne, Stephanie Powers, Steve Simmons, President--Dave Williams.

Auxiliary Officers:

Chaplain--Rita Arrington, Treasurer--Frances Spicer, Secretary--Sara Baldwin, Vice President--Kara Simmons, President--Leslie Quinn.

While a new executive board has been elected and new officers sworn in, the mission of the Occoquan-Woodbridge-Lorton Volunteer Fire Department remains the same. These volunteers continue to put themselves in harm's way for the benefit of the residents of the area and have educated and mentored youth, not only teaching fire safety education, but also strengthening community relations.

Mr. Speaker, I ask that my colleagues join me in recognizing the 85th Anniversary of the Occoquan-Woodbridge-Lorton Volunteer Fire Department and their service to our country and steadfast commitment to their community and in congratulating the newly elected officers and board members. I thank them for their dedication and to all I say: ``Stay safe.''