Texas Republicans Introduce Legislation to Repeal Doggett Education Language

Press Release

Members of the Texas Republican Congressional delegation, led by Congressman Michael C. Burgess (R-Lewisville), today introduced legislation to repeal language in last month's education funding bill that discriminates against only the state of Texas, and could prevent Texas from receiving its fair share of the federal education funding.

The legislation calls to strike the paragraph, which was written and inserted by Texas Congressman Lloyd Doggett, that calls for Texas to make additional requirements beyond what all other states are required to make in order to qualify for the funding. These additional requirements are not only inequitable, but according to Texas officials, would require the state to make assurances that violate the Texas Constitution. Further, requiring only Texas to meet additional requirements under the section titled "Additional Requirements For The State Of Texas" that no other states are required to make puts Texas schoolchildren at an unfair advantage.

On August 6, 2010, all 22 Republican members of the Texas Congressional delegation, including Sens. Kay Bailey Hutchison and John Cornyn, wrote to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi urging her to strike the Doggett language. The lawmakers wrote, "…this amendment singles out only the State of Texas…and no other state in the nation is subject to these additional requirements…the House language only punishes Texas students and teachers." Unfortunately the language was not stripped, and consequently, on September 9, 2010, Texas' application for the $830 million in education funding was denied by the U.S. Department of Education.

Texas Republicans joining Burgess in introducing the legislation are:

Congressman Joe Barton

Congressman Kevin Brady

Congressman John Carter

Congressman Michael Conaway

Congressman John Culberson

Congressman Louie Gohmert

Congresswoman Kay Granger

Congressman Ralph Hall

Congressman Jeb Hensarling

Congressman Michael McCaul

Congressman Randy Neugebauer

Congressman Pete Olson

Congressman Ron Paul

Congressman Ted Poe

Congressman Pete Sessions

Congressman Lamar Smith

Congressman Mac Thornberry

Senators Hutchison and Cornyn introduced the Senate version to repeal Doggett's language, S. 3768, yesterday in the Senate.