Kirk, Durbin, Delegation Call on President to Provide Federal Refief for Central and Southern Illinois Counties

Press Release

U.S. Senators Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) and Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) were joined by the entire Illinois Congressional Delegation today sending a letter to President Obama asking him to issue a major disaster declaration for the State of Illinois and to provide relief to the fifteen Central and Southern Illinois counties affected by severe storms and tornadoes two weeks ago. A Presidential disaster declaration would allow cities and counties to apply for federal reimbursements to help pay for storm damage repairs.

"Governor Quinn indicates that the damage to homes and businesses in these counties is of such severity and magnitude that effective response and recovery is beyond state and local capabilities," the Illinois delegation wrote. "[These 15 counties] were pummeled by the fourth largest November tornado outbreak in U.S. history. The storm system produced 67 tornadoes throughout the Midwest, 24 of which touched down in Illinois, causing widespread destruction throughout the state. The tornadoes resulted in six Illinois fatalities and at least 180 injuries. We respectfully request that you make the necessary declaration so that these counties can receive the assistance they need."

Today, Illinois Governor Pat Quinn sent a letter to President Obama requesting a major disaster declaration for fifteen counties in Central and Southern Illinois -- Champaign, Douglas, Fayette, Grundy, Jasper, LaSalle, Massac, Pope, Tazewell, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, Will and Woodford -- due to the storms and tornadoes that ravaged the counties leaving local governments, charitable organizations, voluntary agencies and evacuees taking on the initial costs of the disasters.

Members signing on to today's letter include Representatives Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Danny Davis (D-IL), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), William Enyart (D-IL), Bill Foster (D-IL), Luis Gutierrez (D-IL), Randy Hultgren (R-IL), Robin Kelly (D-IL), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Peter Roskam (R-IL), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Brad Schneider (D-IL), Aaron Schock (R-IL), John Shimkus (R-IL).