Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice California

2006 Positions on Reproductive Rights

Issues: Abortion

Vote Smart displays all known interest group ratings for each candidate and official, regardless of issue or bias.

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issue concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

With rare exceptions, Vote Smart displays interest group ratings as a 0-100 percentage. While many interest groups use percentages as ratings to begin with, please note that Vote Smart has translated some ratings to a percentage from a different rating system for consistency and ease in understanding. Please visit the group's website, email us at ratings@votesmart.org or call our Voter Information Hotline at 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

results per page:
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House - 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 0%
CA U.S. House - 36 Ted Lieu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate - 6 Roger Niello Republican 0%
CA State Senate - 17 John Laird Democratic 100%
CA State Senate - 34 Thomas Umberg Democratic 100%
CA Mayor Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor - 5 Joe Baca, Jr. 100%
CA Council Member Alan Nakanishi 0%
CA State Board of Equalization Sally Lieber Democratic 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Juan Arambula 100%
Roy Ashburn 0%
John Benoit 0%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 0%
Gilbert Cedillo 100%
David Cogdill 0%
Joe Coto 100%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Jeff Denham 0%
Charles DeVore 0%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Bill Emmerson 0%
Noreen Evans 100%
Dean Florez 100%
Bonnie Garcia 0%
Loni Hancock 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Shirley Horton 0%
Guy Houston 0%
Robert Huff 0%
Dave Jones 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 0%
Johan Klehs 100%
Mark Leno 100%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Bill Maze 0%
Cindy Montañez 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 50%
Nicole Parra 100%
George Plescia 0%
Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Sharon Runner 0%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Todd Spitzer 0%
Audra Strickland 0%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 0%
Mike Villines 0%
Mimi Walters 0%
Lois Wolk 100%
Mark Wyland 0%
Leland Yee 100%