Their Biographies, Issue Positions, Voting Records, Public Statements, Ratings and their Funders.

McSally Celebrates 100th Anniversary of 19th Amendment

Press Release

U.S. Senator Martha McSally (R-AZ) joined all of her female Senate colleagues to introduce a resolution to celebrate a historic milestone, the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, providing for women's suffrage, to the Constitution of the United States. The resolution seeks to honor, reaffirm, and preserve the ratification of the 19th Amendment in further promoting the core values of our democracy as promised by the U.S. Constitution.

"The pioneers who fought tirelessly and courageously to give women the right to vote paved the way for me and for every woman across our country to fully participate in our representative government," said McSally. "I am proud to join each one of my female colleagues in the U.S. Senate to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment. In honor of this milestone, we must continue to break down the barriers impeding progress in the workforce and in society so that all women and men can meet their full potential. I pray that one day, girls and boys will truly have the same opportunities to soar and be anything they want to be, because that is what America is all about."

Click HERE for full text of the resolution.

Resolution excerpts:

Whereas Congress passed the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, guided by the shared ideals of freedom, sovereignty, democracy, civil liberties, and individual rights.
Whereas the introduction, passage, and ultimate ratification of the 19th Amendment were the culmination of decades of work and struggle by advocates for the rights of women across the United States and worldwide.
Whereas the ratification of the 19th Amendment ensured women could more fully participate in our democracy and fundamentally changed the role of women in the civic life of our Nation.
Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Senate celebrates the reaffirms the desire of Congress to continue strengthening democratic participation and to inspire future generations to cherish and preserve the historic precedent established under the 19th Amendment.
The resolution is cosponsored by Senators Murkowski (R-AK), Baldwin (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Collins (R-ME), Shaheen (D-NH), Capito (R-WV), Blackburn (R-TN), Warren (D-MA), Ernst (R-IA), Fischer (R-NE), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Hirono (D-HI), Murray (D-WA), Cantwell (D-WA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Harris (D-CA), Stabenow (D-MI), Rosen (D-NV), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Smith (D-MN), Gillibrand (D-NY), Hassan (D-NH), Duckworth (D-IL), Sinema (D-AZ).